Recommit Files

Updated 2 weeks ago by Copado Solutions

One of the Git operations available in the User Story Commits page is Recommit Files. When this operation is selected, all the components that were previously selected and committed in the user story (User Story Selections) will be automatically selected in the metadata grid, allowing you to speed up the process of updating your feature branch with the newest content in your org.

But what happens if you want to remove a selection or if there is something wrong in your feature branch and you want to re-create it? Here is where the Re-Create Feature Branch option comes into play.

Let’s see  what happens when this checkbox is and is not selected:

  • If the Re-Create Feature Branch checkbox is not checked, Copado will do the following when committing:
    • Commit the selected metadata components in the existing feature branch. If the feature branch is not found (because it was deleted manually in the Git repository), Copado creates a feature branch automatically.
  • If the Re-Create Feature Branch checkbox is checked, Copado will do the following when committing:
    • Delete the existing feature branch in the Git repository.
    • Create a new feature branch.
    • Commit the selected metadata components.
Please note that if you check the Re-Create Feature Branch box, the newly created feature branch will not include the previous commits in the user story, and the status of these commits will be set to Commit not in branch.



How did we do?