The Pipeline page is the new version of the Pipeline Manager page. This page has been redesigned with new features that allow you, among other things, to filter the environments you want to display, monitor the progress of deployments and check whether deployments have been successful or not:
In each of the environments there is a status icon next to the name of the environment. If you click on it, it will show the Deployment Activity screen with a list of recent deployments to that environment. You can close the screen to return to the Pipeline view. These are the possible statuses:
- If the deployment has been successful, you will see a green check.
- If the deployment has failed, a red cross will be displayed.
- If the deployment is still in progress, you will see an in-progress icon.
- If the deployment is waiting for a manual action to be completed, you will see a pause icon.
- If there is a merge conflict you will see a yellow warning icon.
In addition to the status icon, you can see in every environment the number of user stories ahead or behind. If you click on any of the numbers, it will open a page where you can deploy or back-promote those user stories:
Deployment status icons and user story difference numbers are updated in real time. If, for instance, an in-progress deployment succeeds, the icon will be updated accordingly. If you have chosen to automate or schedule deployments or back-promotions you will see the numbers of user story differences change in real-time as well.
You can control this timeout period by modifying the custom metadata item called Streaming Settings. The field Copado Latest Deployment Streaming controls the timeout for the deployment status icons, and defaults to 3,600,000 ms (1 hour). The field Copado User Story Streaming controls the timeout for user story difference counts, and defaults to 600,000 ms (10 minutes). You can ensure real-time updates never time out by leaving these fields empty. This can be useful for example if you want to keep the Pipeline page displayed on a large screen in a shared work area. You can also disable real-time updates entirely by deselecting the Enabled checkbox on those two custom metadata fields.
This page includes the option to filter the environments you would like to see displayed, which can be really handy if you are working with a lot of development environments in your pipeline. You can choose to hide any environment that does not have an incoming connection (those that are located to the left of the pipeline page). The other environments will be shown or hidden automatically, so that you will always see all of the “upstream” environments leading to the production environment.
You can also filter user stories by any field on the user story:
Filters can be saved so that you can reuse them at any time. You can keep filters private or share them with other users. There are no limitations in the number of filters you can save.